Tuesday, June 6, 2017

2017 Vermont Twin State Baseball Classic Team Announced

Annual Classic Slated For Saturday June 24 in Concord, N.H.

Contact: Bruce Bosley (bbosley.vbca@gmail.com; 802-324-8334)

Eighteen of the finest senior baseball players from Vermont will play for the Green Mountain State against New Hampshire in the 2017 Twin State Baseball Classic on Saturday, June 24 in Concord, N.H. The Vermont Baseball Coaches Association announced its roster today.

The 2017 Vermont team consists of: Brady Illingsworth (1B/LHP), Bellows Falls; Jake Hakey (RHP/IF), BFA Fairfax; Chris Fenimore (RHP/IF), Burlington; Griff Stalcup (RHP/IF), Burr and Burton; Chris O’Brien (1B), Champlain Valley; Jordan Bell (C), Colchester; Abraham Koval (OF/RHP) and Tyler Roberge (OF), Essex; Jordan Allard (RHP/IF), Hartford; Ryan Austin (OF), Milton; Shea Fitzgerald (RHP/IF), Kyle Leggett (C) and Ray Wilson (IF), Mount Mansfield; Galen Goodenough (IF) and Greg Johnson (OF), Randolph; Dalton Hotchkiss (OF), Rutland; Patrick Greenan (LHP/1B), St. Johnsbury; and Josh Scoskie (RHP/IF), South Royalton.

The Green Mountain State's squad is made up of student-athletes from 14 different high schools from all corners of the state and  represents all four of the state’s divisions. The New Hampshire roster will be finalized and announced later.

Coaches for Vermont will be Bob Lockerby (Bellows Falls), Marcel Girouard (Burlington), Roy Sargent (Missisquoi Valley) and Mike Czok (Randolph). The Granite State will be led by Matt LeBlanc of Belmont, Jim Gorham of Campbell and Dave Kretchmar, formerly of Somersworth.

First pitch of game one of the doubleheader (two seven-inning games) will be at 11 a.m. Memorial Field in Concord, N.H. Admission is free. The rain date for the 2017 classic is the following day. 

Originally held from 1983 to 2004, the Twin State Baseball Classic returned to the diamond at Nashua's Holman Stadium in June of 2015 and was played last June at Lyndon State’s Skip Pound Field in Lyndon. Since its resumption the two teams have split four one-run decisions. The site will alternate between states each year.

No comments: