Friday, June 2, 2017

Several Former Vermont High School Products Earn Collegiate Honors:

Several of the 70-plus former Vermont high school baseball products earned many conference and regional honors in the 2017 collegiate season. The all-conference and academic awards were earned by student-athletes representing seven different conferences.

2017 Conference Awards and Honors (as of May 30, 2017):
Commonwealth Coast Conference- All-CCC Second Team: Nick Berno (BFA St. Albans/Endicott);
Great Northern Athletic Conference- All-GNAC Second Team: Kyle Farquarson (Blue Mountain/Norwich): All-GNAC Third Team: Brandon Pedley (Northfield/Norwich); GNAC Coach of the Year: Frank Pecora, Norwich;
Liberty League-  All-LL Second Team: Will Potter; LL All-Academic Team (Champlain Valley/Skidmore): Patrick McMackin (South Burlington/RPI); Hayden Smith  (Champlain Valley/Skidmore) and Potter (Skidmore);
Little East- All-LEC Second Team: Sean Callahan (Colchester/UMass Dartmouth);
NESCAC All-Academic Team: Jake Stalcup (Burr & Burton/Middlebury);
North Atlantic Conference- : NAC Pitcher of the Year: Michael LaBeau (Bellows Falls/Castleton); NAC Rookie of the Year: Davis Mikell  (Champlain Valley/Castleton): NAC Baseball Scholar Athlete: Steven Jurkiewicz (Essex/Castleton); All-NAC First Team: Doug Avellino (Woodstock/Colby Sawyer), Devon Rollins (Winooski/Lyndon State), Devin Hayes (Vergennes/Castleton), LeBeau (Castleton); All-NAC Second Team: Dylan Bailey (Harwood/Castleton), Mikell, Castleton; NAC All-Championship Team: Zach Bahan (Mount Anthony/Castleton), Hayes (Castleton); NAC All-Sportsmanship Team: Deegan Poland, (Champlain Valley/Castleton); NAC co-Coaches of the Year: Ted Shipley (Castleton) and Tom White (Lyndon);
Northeast-10 Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll; Joey Robertson (Essex/Saint Michaels), Cole Reilly (Milton/Saint Michael’s)

Regional Honors:
Doug Avellino (Colby Sawyer): All-ECAC NE D-III;
Devin Hayes (Castleton): All-New England (NEIBA D-III) first team, ABCA/Rawlings All-Region, first team; All-ECAC NE D-III;
Davis Mikell (Castleton): ECAC NE D-III Rookie of the Year, All-New England (NEIBA D-III), second team, ABCA/Rawlings All-Region, second team;
Michael LaBeau (Castleton): ECAC NE D-III Pitcher of the Year, All-ECAC New England;
Mike Phelps (Middlebury): NEIBA Kevin Burr Assistant Coach Award;
Ted Shipley, ECAC NE D-III Coach of the Year;

No comments: